skip to primary navigationskip to content

Intelligence Seminar

intelligence banner

Michaelmas Term 2017


Welcome or welcome back to the Intelligence Seminar!

As in previous years, the Seminar will provide a forum for distinguished visiting speakers, innovative intelligence research in progress in Cambridge, and discussion. There is usually time in the latter part of each Seminar for participants, if they wish, to mention newly-declassified documents in the archives and other recent discoveries.


The convenors of the Intelligence Seminar are:

Professor Chris Andrew (, Dr Dan Larsen (, Dr Tom Maguire (, Professor Peter Godman (, Simon Brocklebank-Fowler and Sir Richard Dearlove.


Unless otherwise indicated below, Cambridge meetings this term take place in Corpus Christi College NCR (entry via C staircase, New Court) and commence promptly at 5.30 pm. The Porters' Lodge at Corpus will provide further directions in case of need.


Friday 6 October:

Chris Andrew: “From Lenin to Putin: 100 Years of Russian Intelligence”


Friday 13 October:

Daniela Richterova (Prague and Warwick): “Czechoslovak Agents in the House of Commons during the Cold War: Revelations from the Prague intelligence archives”


Friday 20 October in Harley-Mason Room, New Court, Corpus (turn right at Porters Lodge). PLEASE NOTE CHANGE OF LOCATION

Professor Mike Goodman (KCL, Official Historian of the JIC): “The Joint Intelligence Committee in the Cold War’


11 am to 12-30 pm, Saturday 21 October, in Law Faculty, Sidgwick site (PLEASE NOTE CHANGE OF LOCATION AND TIMING)

Sir Richard Dearlove, Chris Andrew, Martha Spurrier and Nick Devon, “Can We Keep Secrets?” (part of Cambridge Festival of Ideas)


Friday 27 October: 11 am (coffee) for 11-30 am at the Royal United Services Institute (RUSI), Whitehall (not far from the MOD) [Please note change of time & Whitehall location] Joint meeting (including lunch) with British Study Group on Intelligence (SGI)

11-30 am Professor Richard Aldrich (Warwick) and Dr Lewis Herrington (Loughborough): ‘Ransom, Kidnap and the Rise of Private Security’

1 pm Sandwich lunch

2 pm Tom Keatinge (RUSI): ‘The Importance of Following the Money: Financial Intelligence and Counter-Terrorism’

3-30 pm: end of meeting

If you wish to attend, please email the SGI Secretary, Professor Mike Goodman ( not later than 17 October. We will ask you to pay £5 on the day for lunch. If you are not a member of the SGI, please inform Professor Goodman that you are coming as the guest of Professor Andrew



Friday 3 November:

Gill Bennett (former FCO Chief Historian): ‘Russian Conspiracy in British Politics? The Zinoviev Letter affair, 1924 to 2017’


Friday 10 November:

Alfred Rolington (former CEO Oxford Analytica and Jane’s Information Group): ‘Cyber Warfare: A New Frontier in Global Conflict’


Friday 17 November

Calder Walton (Harvard): “Avoiding Thucydides’ Trap: Intelligence  Lessons of the Cold War”


Friday 24 November

Frederick Forsyth, ‘My Life in the Cold War’



Michaelmas Term 2017 Programme - print version



Archived Seminar programmes

Easter Term 2017 Programme

Lent Term 2017 Programme

Michaelmas Term 2016 Programme

Easter Term 2016 Programme

Lent Term 2016 Programme

Michaelmas Term 2015 Programme

Easter Term 2015 Programme

Lent Term 2015 Programme

Michaelmas Term 2014 Programme

Easter Term 2014 Programme

Lent Term 2014 Programme

Michaelmas Term 2013 Programme

Easter Term 2013 Programme

Lent Term 2013 Programme

Michaelmas Term 2012 Programme

Easter Term 2012 Programme

Lent Term 2012 Programme

Michaelmas Term 2011 Programme

The Leverhulme Early Career Fellowship Internal Competition 2018 is now open. For full information for applicants please see the Research funding webpage


Upcoming events

Film show: To Sir with Love (1967)

Jan 22, 2018

The Dome, Murray Edwards College

History for Schools 2017-2018

Feb 10, 2018

Faculty of History

Upcoming events