Modern British History workshop


The Modern British History workshop enables postgraduate students working on any aspect of British history from 1700 to share and receive feedback on their research. It provides a space for students to test ideas, train their public speaking skills, and establish professional networks. It is paired with the Modern British History Seminar and runs on alternating weeks up to four times per term. The workshop is open to MPhil and PhD students at Cambridge, and where possible, interested colleagues from other universities.

The intellectual scope of the workshop is very broad, both in terms of historical timeframe and methodology. Topics are flexible insofar as they are set by participants and the themes of the contributions received.

At each meeting, a student presents a work-in-progress paper for approximately 30-40 minutes. The paper is then discussed amongst workshop attendees for approximately 45 minutes. Each workshop lasts around 1.5 hours and is typically followed by a time of socialising. 

We are pleased to announce our Term Card for Lent Term 2022:

27 January – George Palmer, ‘Biblical Prophecy as Political Language: The Albury and Bloomsbury Conferences, 1826-58’, University of Cambridge.

10 February – Harry Parker, ‘The Regional Survey Movement and Popular Auto-Ethnography in Interwar Britain’, University of Cambridge.

24 February – Ben Francis, ‘“Save the Kite”: Contested Space and Comprehensive Redevelopment in Cambridge, 1968-1986’, University of Cambridge.

Meetings are held at 5pm in the Stuart Butler Room at St. John’s College. Refreshments will be provided. To participate via Zoom, or to be added to the mailing list, please contact the co-convenors.

2021-2022 Conveners: 

Alice McKimm - (

Rebecca Goldsmith - (

David Dahlborn – (

Augusta Waldie – (