Royal History Society 2021 prizes

RHS prizes 2021

The Royal Historical Society has announced its Publication, Teaching and Fellowship Awards for 2021, the Society’s annual joint fellowships with the Institute of Historical Research, and the IHR’s annual prizes for research. Among the winners and runners up are several current and past students of the Faculty, our congratulations to them all.

The Rees Davies Prize: for the best dissertation submitted as part of a one-year full-time (or two-year part-time) postgraduate Master’s degree in any United Kingdom institution of Higher Education.
Awarded to: Tom Parkinson (University of Cambridge) for ‘Space, Time and the Body: Muharram in Nineteenth-Century Singapore’.

Institute Of Historical Research: Neale Prize: for an essay on a theme related to the history of early modern Britain.
Awarded to: Eloise Davies (University of Cambridge) for ‘Reformed but not converted: Paolo Sarpi, the English mission in Venice and conceptions of religious change’.

RHS / IHR Marshall Fellowships For Doctoral Research.
Awarded to: Humaira Chowdhury (University of Cambridge) for research on: ‘Hanging By a Thread: A Social and Economic History of Muslim Tailors (Darzis) in Calcutta, 1947-1967’.

The Alexander Prize: for the best published scholarly journal article or an essay in a collective volume based upon original historical research.
Awarded to: Matthew Birchall (University of Auckland) for History, Sovereignty, Capital: Company Colonisation in South Australia and New Zealand‘, Journal of Global History, 16 (2021). Based on his current PhD research at Cambridge.
Runner up: Max Long (University of Cambridge) for ‘The ciné-biologists: natural history film and the co-production of knowledge in interwar Britain’, British Journal for the History of Science, 2020.


Other prize winners include:

The Gladstone Prize: for a first monograph on a subject not primarily relating to British or Irish History, published in the UK during 2020
Awarded to: Dr Tom Stammers (Durham University) for The Purchase of the Past: Collecting Culture in Post-Revolutionary Paris, c.1790–1890 (Cambridge University Press)


The Whitfield Prize: for a first monograph on a subject relating to British or Irish History, published in the UK during 2020.
Joint winner: Dr Jackson Armstrong (University of Aberdeen) for England’s Northern Frontier: Conflict and Local Society in the Fifteenth-Century Scottish Marches (Cambridge University Press)

Both works based on their Cambridge PhD research.

And lastly. for the Institute Of Historical Research: Pollard Prize: for the best paper presented at an Institute of Historical Research seminar by a postgraduate student or by a researcher within one year of completing the PhD|
Awarded to our recent postgraduate student: Merve Fejzula (University of Missouri) for ‘Toward a history of intellectual labor: gender, negritude, and the Black public sphere’, given at the ‘IHR Political Thought and Intellectual History Seminar’

More information about the prize winning works can be found on the RHS blog