Emeritus Professor David Abulafia wins Wolfson History Prize 2020

Abulafia - Boundless Sea

Congratulations to Professor David Abulafia, whose book ‘The Boundless Sea:A Human History of the Oceans’ has won the 2020 Wolfson History Prize.

The Wolfson History Prize is awarded annually to a work of historical non-fiction which combines excellence in research and writing, with readability for a general audience. It is the most valuable non-fiction prize in the UK.

The winner was announced in a virtual ceremony on 15 June featuring guest appearances from previous Wolfson History Prize winners including Mary Beard (2009), Peter Marshall (2018), and Mary Fulbrook (2019). The ceremony is available to watch online.

More information can be found here

Guardian review

Times Literary Supplement review

16 June 2020