skip to primary navigationskip to content

Ellen McArthur Prize Recipients

Ellen McArthur Prize winners 1933 - 2016

Xuesheng You, Women’s employment in England and Wales, 1851-1911

(awarded 2016; unpublished)

Anjali Bhardwaj-Datta, Rebuilding lives and redefining spaces: women in post-colonial Delhi, 1945-1980 

(awarded 2016; unpublished)

Adrian Leonard, The origins and development of London Marine Insurance, 1547-1824 

(awarded 2015; unpublished)

Jagjeet Lally, Indo-Central Asian trade c1600-1900 

(awarded 2015; unpublished)

Sean Bottomley, The British patent system during the Industrial Revolution, 1700-1852 

(awarded 2014; CUP 2014)

Jocelyn Betts, The business enterprise in mid-Victorian social thought 

(awarded 2013; unpublished)

Stephen Thompson, Census taking, political economy and state formation in Britain c1790-1840 

(awarded 2011; unpublished)

Sarah Louise Walters, Fertility, morality and marriage in Northwest Tanzania 1920-1970: a demographic study using parish registers 

(awarded 2010; unpublished)

J Laite, Common Prostitutes and Ordinary Citizens: Commercial Sex in London, 1885-1960

(awarded 2008; Palgrave Macmillan, 2011) 

C Beauchamp, Invented by Law: Alexander Graham Bell and the Patent That Changed America

(awarded 2007; Harvard University Press, 2015)

Mark Roodhouse, Black Market Britain

(awarded 2004; OUP 2013)

L.K Lahiri Choudhury, A Social and Political History of the Telegraph in the Indian Empire, circa 1850-1920 

(awarded 2004; Palgrave Macmillan, 2010) 

Felicitas Becker, A social history of southeastern Tanzania c1900-1950 

(awarded 2002; unpublished)

J Davis, Perceptions and reality of merchants, trade regulation and commercialisation: case studies of medieval Suffolk, 1200-1500 

(awarded 2002; unpublished)  

David Stone, The management of resources on the demesne farm of Wisbech Barton, 1314-1430

(awarded 1999; CUP 1998)

T.J Lockley, Lines in the Sand: Race and Class in Lowcountry Georgia, 1750-1860 

(awarded 1996; University of Georgia Press, 2001)

A.L. Erickson, Women and property in early modern England 

(awarded 1993; Routledge, 1993)

Steven Epstein, An island for itself: Economic development and social change in late medieval Sicily 

(awarded 1992; CUP 2003)

Ina Maria Zweininger-Bargielowska, Industrial relationships and nationalisation in the South Wales coalmining industry 

(awarded 1990; unpublished)

Simon Szreter, The decline of marital fertility in England and Wales c. 1870-1914 

(awarded 1985; CUP, 1996)

M.J Stephenson, Wool yields in medieval England 

(awarded 1984; Economic History Review, Volume 41, issue 3, August 1988, Pages 368–391) 

S. Prakash, The Impact of the Market on the Evolution of Agrarian Economy in (British) Gujarat 1850-1940 

(awarded 1983; unpublished)

H. James, The Reichsbank and Public Finance in Germany 1924-1933. A Study of the Politics of Economics during the Great Depression 

(awarded 1983; Frankfurt am Maim, 1985)

J.K. Fedorowicz, England’s Baltic trade in the early 17th century 

(awarded 1977; Cambridge Studies in Economic History, 1980) 

Susan Howson, Domestic monetary management in Britain, 1919-38 

(awarded 1975; CUP 1975) 

Edmund King, Peterborough Abbey 1086-1310 

(awarded 1973; CSEH, with aid of E. M. Fund, 1973)

Heinz Kent, War and trade in the northern seas: Anglo-Scandinavian economic relation in the mid-18th century 

(awarded 1973; CSEH, with aid of E. M. Fund, 1973)

J.Z. Titow, Winchester yields: A study in mediaeval agricultural productivity 

(awarded 1970; CSEH, with aid of E.M. Fund, 1971)

Michael Drake, Population and society in Norway 1735-1865 

(awarded 1967; CSEH, with aid of E. M. Fund, 1969)

David Grigg, The agricultural revolution in south Lincolnshire 

(awarded 1966; CSEH, with aid of E. M. Fund, 1966)

H.E. Hallam, Settlement and society 

(awarded 1965; CSEH, with aid of E. M. Fund, 1965)

L. Jayawardena, The supply of Sinhalese labour to Ceylon plantations 

(awarded 1963; unpublished)

Dharma Kumar, Land and caste in south India: agricultural labour in Madras presidency in the 19th century 

(awarded 1962; CSEH 1965)

E.A. Wrigley, Industrial growth and population change

(awarded 1957; CSEH, with aid of E. M. Fund, 1961)

W.G. Rimmer, Marshalls of Leeds, flax-spinners 1788-1886 

(awarded 1957; CSEH, with aid of E. M. Fund, 1960)

Ian W.  Macpherson, British investment in Indian Guaranteed Railways, 1845-1875 

(awarded 1956; unpublished)

G.S.L. Tucker, Progress and profit in British economic thought 1650-1850 

(awarded 1955; CSEH, with aid of E. M. Fund, 1960)

B.E. Supple, Commercial crisis and change in England 1600-1642

(awarded 1959; CSEH, with aid of E. M. Fund, 1959)

G.A. Holmes, The estates of the higher nobility in 14th-century England 

(awarded 1957; CSEH, with aid of E. M. Fund, 1957)

Harold Wright, Free trade and protection in the Netherlands 1816-30 

(awarded 1955; CSEH, with aid of E. M. Fund, 1955)

Andre J. Bourde, The influence on England of French agronomes 1750-89 

(awarded 1953; CSEH, with aid of E. M. Fund, 1953)

Michael Greenberg, British trade and the opening of China 1800-42 

(awarded 1951; CSEH, with aid of E. M. Fund, 1951)

E. Victor Morgan, The theory and practice of central banking 1797-1913 

(awarded 1943; CSEH, with aid of E. M. Fund, 1943)

R.A.L. Smith, Canterbury Cathedral priory 

(awarded 1943; CSEH, with aid of E. M. Fund, 1943)

Charles H. Wilson, Anglo-Dutch commerce and finance in the eighteenth century 

(awarded 1941; CSEH, with aid of E. M. Fund, 1941)

H.C. Darby, The medieval Fenland

(awarded 1940; CSEH, with aid of E. M. Fund, 1940; reprinted 1970)

W.O. Henderson, The Zollverein 

(awarded 1939; CSEH, with aid of E. M. Fund, 1939)

Arthur Hope-Jones, Income taxes in the Napoleonic wars 

(awarded 1939; CSEH, with aid of E. M. Fund, 1939)

E.E. Rich, The ordinance book of the Merchants of the Staple 

(awarded 1937; CSEH, with aid of E. M. Fund, 1937)

Ethel Mary Hampson, The treatment of poverty in Cambridgeshire 1597-1834 

(awarded 1934; CSEH, with aid of E. M. Fund, 1934)

Frances M. Page, The estates of Crowland Abbey 

(awarded 1934; CSEH, with aid of E. M. Fund, 1934)

H.M. Robertson, Aspects of the rise of economic individualism 

(awarded 1933; CSEH, with aid of E. M Fund, 1933)

The History Faculty welcomes expressions of interest for BA Postdoctoral Fellowships 2019/20. The internal Faculty deadline is 5pm on 16 August 2019.

Read more

Individual Fellowship competition is now open. The internal University deadline is 3pm, 10 September 2019. 

Read more


Share this